Dismembering the American Dream: the Life and Fiction of Richard Yates

Today is a wonderful day. Ten copies of my book, Dismembering the American Dream arrived in the post, in a box in a sack, actually. I wonder if the person who delivered them had a long white beard and a scarlet tunic.

It looks wonderful and I am completely thrilled: it’s been a long haul. Sadly, the price tag is high and I’m concerned that the graduates and undergraduates (for whom it was intended) will find it prohibitive. Buy lots of copies, those of you who can afford to, and tweet like crazy!

Big thanks to all of you for taking an interest but especially to DeWitt Henry and Alex Siskin for their helpful, incisive comments for so many years.

I hope you can get your hands on a copy (publication date is August 30th 2014: Alabama University Press) and I hope you enjoy it.

Kate

9 Responses to “Dismembering the American Dream: the Life and Fiction of Richard Yates”

  1. congratulations. i’ve been waiting for this book! how many copies are in the first edition?

    • kateonyates Says:

      Thank you very much. The answer to your question is very few but I hope it might get a second. It’s available on Amazon but you might need to take out a mortgage to afford it. I hope it’s worth the wait!

      • Received my copy. Excited to read it. First flip through, I enjoyed all the previously unseen photos.

        So how can I spirit the number of copies in the first edition from you? Best not to post here? Can I ask you separately via email?

        Anyway, best to you and congratulations, again.

  2. kateonyates Says:

    I will email you in a few days when I know. I’m away at the moment but I’ll endeavour to find out. Can I ask why you want to know? I hope that doesn’t sound ‘off’. Kate

  3. I am reading it now. I love it. You definitely put some windows into a dark story

  4. I am reading it now. I love it. You definitely put some windows into a dark story

Leave a Reply

